South Africa vs England

South Africa vs England: The 2019 Rugby World Cup final. England made it, England and South Africa go head to head in the final of the Rugby World Cup this Saturday in Yokohama, Japan.

This will be the second meeting between the two teams in the tournament’s showcase, with the Springboks edging to victory 12 years ago in Paris.

It is the most eagerly-anticipated international rugby match there is and only takes place every four years, with 80 minutes separating two teams from global domination.

Match Schedule

Date: Saturday, 2 November

Time: 9 a.m. (GMT), 5 a.m. (ET), 6 p.m. (Local)

Venue: International Stadium Yokohama, Yokohama, Japan

South Africa, in contrast, came through a gritty arm wrestle with Wales, winning 19-16, to book their place in the last two.

Victory for the Springboks would see them match New Zealand’s World Cup haul of three, while England have the chance to add to their 2003 success as the only northern hemisphere side to have ever lifted the Webb Ellis Cup.

In the 2015 final, New Zealand secured back-to-back titles after overcoming Australia 34-17 at Twickenham. That final between Australia and New Zealand was the highest scoring Rugby World Cup final ever.

Man of the match was given to All Blacks fly-half Dan Carter, who in his 112th and final appearance in international colours scored 19 points and engineered his side to victory.

It was also the last time New Zealand rugby icons Richie McCaw, Ma’a Nonu, Conrad Smith and Keven Mealamu wore the famous all black jersey.

England XV: Elliot Daly, Anthony Watson, Manu Tuilagi, Owen Farrell (captain), Jonny May, George Ford, Ben Youngs; Billy Vunipola, Sam Underhill, Tom Curry, Courtney Lawes, Maro Itoje, Kyle Sinckler, Jamie George, Mako Vunipola.

Replacements: Luke Cowan-Dickie, Joe Marler, Dan Cole, George Kruis, Mark Wilson, Ben Spencer, Henry Slade, Jonathan Joseph.

South Africa XV: Willie le Roux, Cheslin Kolbe, Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Makazole Mapimpi, Handre Pollard, Faf de Klerk; Duane Vermeulen, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi (captain), Lood de Jager, Eben Etzebeth, Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi, Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: Malcolm Marx, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, RG Snyman, Franco Mostert, Francois Louw, Herschel Jantjies, Frans Steyn.

Eddie Jones’ side head into the encounter as marginal favourites, having delivered what has been described as one of the all-time great World Cup performances to beat reigning champions New Zealand 19-7 in the semi-finals.

Given what is at stake, it’s likely to be an attritional final, with both teams unlikely to take risks in the early stages for fear of conceding early points. Of the two sides, that pattern of play would likely suit South Africa.

However, as the match moves on the power of the England pack and the greater ingenuity they have in the backs should see them take control, culminating in an historic night for Jones and his players.